The Way the World Is

Book 2 of the Olivia Series

Yael Politis

After the devastating trauma she suffered in Olivia, Mourning and finally knowing the reality with which she must contend, Olivia strives to rebuild herself – emotionally, socially, and financially. She starts a new life in Detroit, the young and exciting city on a river where she has come to feel at home. New friends help the healing process, while she continues to search for the two people she loves, who have disappeared from her life. She finds some solace in helping fugitive slaves escape over the river to Canada. She believes, as one of her new friends says, “In this time and place it is the most worthy thing a person can do.” Olivia remains a compelling protagonist on a journey to find a way to do the right thing in a world in which so much is wrong.

“Yael Politis has become one of my favourite authors. She first hooked me with her amazing story of struggle, hope and tragedy in the Middle East during the Palestinian Mandate – ‘The Lonely Tree’. For this new series, she has returned to her Michigan roots and turned out a wonderfully atmospheric ongoing story of a remarkable woman, battling prejudice, bigotry, fear and discrimination in 19th century America. I eagerly await Book Three. If you haven’t read Yael Politis yet, you’re in for a treat. If you have, you’ll know exactly what I mean.” Catherine Cavendish, Author

“Yael Politis is becoming one of my favorite Authors. She is a talented writer who has that special ability to place the reader into the story, and make them feel as if they are part of it. Her research is so well developed that it shows in every facet of this astounding story. I would highly recommend this book to all readers.” Marilou, Amazon Customer

“This 3 book series was simply amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed it. I felt as though I knew Olivia, Mourning, Charlie, Charlotte and Reeves personally. Wonderful character development. I highly recommend reading all

  • Historical Fiction (USA 1840s)
  • Page Count: 353
  • Word Count: 118,000
  • ASIN: B00H0H39JA
  • ISBN-13: 978-1496138859
  • Publisher: Yael Politis

Also by Yael Politis

Get Your Free Copy

Olivia, Mourning
Book 1 of the Olivia Series


Whatever Happened to Mourning Free?
Book 3 of the Olivia Series


The Summer of 1848
Book 4 of the Olivia Series

The Summer of 1974 Book Cover

The Summer of 1974
Book 1 of the Gavrielle Series

Money and Good Things Book by Yael Politis

Money and Good Things
Book 5 of the Olivia Series

Photograph of library in banner courtesy of House Beautiful, Photography by William P. Steele